Duane Johnson Award

From the Spring 2010 edition of FoKL Point, the official magazine of the Friends of Kansas Libraries comes:

And the Duane Johnson Library Leadership Award Goes To . . . Betty Cattrell
by Sue Blechl

“Beginning in 2005, the Friends of Kansas Libraries established the Duane Johnson Library Leadership Award in honor of Duane Johnson, the retired State Librarian of Kansas who was in that position for over 20 years. Johnson’s dedication to the Kansas library community and his assistance with the development of the FoKL organization were highlights of his tenure as Kansas State Librarian. The recipient of this award receives a perpetual plaque to hang in their office for the year and $ 100 is given in her honor to the Kansas Library Association Educational Foundation. Previous recipients are Hans Fischer, Leroy Gattin, Vikki Jo Stewart, Pat Gaunce and Jane Hatch.

“This year we honor Betty Cattrell, director of Haysville Community Library for the last 33 years. Betty loves what she does every day. She matches people with books, shares information, introduces technology and as she puts it, meddles in lives. And at the age of 82, she led her team in building a beautiful new library!

“She does not remember not knowing how to read and was a regular library user from a very young age. Betty’s earliest library experience was as a page at Wichita High School East . . . working off detention.

“She worked at the Boeing library in the 1950s; then, at the request of the su¬perintendent of schools, she established a library in the new elementary school at Haysville. She went on to establish libraries in two more grade schools and one middle school.
Betty graduated from KPlace, a three-year library continuing education course, in 1991 and took state library certification classes through Emporia State University. Betty has received numerous awards that show her passion for libraries, education and community.

“In the year 2000, Betty received the KLA presidential award. Haysville named her ‘citizen of the year’ in 2001. She served on the Kansas public education task force in 2007. The Haysville Chamber of Commerce presented her with ‘gold star’ awards in 1983 and 2006.

“Betty believes the greatest technology ever was the creation of the book. She feels that the United States has the best access to education and enlightenment in the world and that Kansas libraries are the best of the best.

“According to Betty, a community without a library is like a body without a soul. She makes her library the heart and soul of the commnnity. At the age of 83, Betty has the energy of a much younger person, and the wisdom of a life well-lived. She says, ‘if you hang around long enough, good things are bound to happen.’

“We are pleased to honor Betty Cattrell with the Duane Johnson Library Leadership Award.”

Published in: on April 10, 2010 at 10:20 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://haysvillelibrary.wordpress.com/2010/04/10/duane-johnson-award/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: